Faculty News

Chemistry faculty featured prominently in October 2009 CCAS newsletter

Dr. Jack Tossell featured in ScienceNews

Dr. Akos Vertes wins 2007 Oscar & Shoshana Trachtenberg Prize

Dr. Martin Zysmilich mentioned in C&EN magazine

Vertes group's LAESI featured in Reuters

Dr. Christopher Cahill Named Fulbright Scholar

Dr. Cahill will be on sabbatical during the 2008-2009 academic year to pursue research in Cardiff, Wales in the United Kingdom. Congratulations on receiving this prestigious honor!

GW receives $1.5 million grant from W.M. KECK Foundation to develop innovative in vivo "protein microscope"

Student News

ARCS® Scholars Selected

Congratulations to Anna Korovina, Jessica Stolee and Bennett Walker, who have been selected as ARCS® (Achievement Rewards for College Scientists) Scholars for 2009-10.

Philip Amsterdam Scholar Selected from Chemistry Department

Badri Shyam was selected as one of three winners of the Philip Amsterdam Graduate Teaching Assistantship Award. Congratulations!

Peter Nemes wins 2008 Chorofas Foundation Award

Congratulations to doctoral student Peter Nemes, who received the 2008 Chorafas Prize, an international prize for exceptional achievements in research. The Swiss-based Dimitris N. Chorafas Foundation prizes are devoted to doctoral students who are under 30 at the time of application and conduct outstanding work in selected fields of engineering, computer science, medicine, and the natural sciences.

Mazdak Taghioskoui wins 2 DCCEAS Awards

Congratulations to Mazdak and his mentors, Professors Montaser and Zaghloul, for winning two prizes from the District of Columbia Council of Engineering and Architectural Societies for a paper ‘Development of a Miniature Instrument for Detection of Trace Molecular Species on Mars’ by Mazdak Taghioskoui, Ph.D Candidate.

  • The WSE/YEP Graduate First Prize certificate and $500.00 Cash Award for 2008
  • The DCCEAS Graduate First Prize Certificate and $800.00 Cash Award for 2008

Mazdak has been invited to the DCCEAS Engineers Week Awards Banquet on February 23, 2008, as a guest of the Council, inorder to receive the awards.